4th Year - Data Art

From WSOA Digital Arts Research Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Applied Concepts in Digital Networked Media - Focus Data Art

Lab Work

Data Art History & Theory & Links

History & Theory Lectures:

Find the links we looked at in class through out the semester here: 4th Year Theory Lecture Links (this is currently being updated for 2016)

Links & Playful Examples:
Limn by Jeff Fletcher http://www.limn.co.za
Collection of Social Media Infographics from visual.ly http://visual.ly/social-media-infographics
Phenology Clock by Tega Brain http://tegabrain.com/The-Phenology-Clock
Africa is not a Country http://africaisntacountry.herokuapp.com/
David McCandles - the Beauty of Data Visualization - TED Talk http://www.ted.com/talks/david_mccandless_the_beauty_of_data_visualization.html
Golan Levin's - Dumpster on the Whitney ArtPort http://artport.whitney.org/commissions/thedumpster/dumpster.shtml
Info Aesthetics Blog http://infosthetics.com/
Aaron Koblin - Visualising Ourselves - TED talk http://www.ted.com/talks/aaron_koblin.html
The Wind Map http://hint.fm/wind/
FlowingData - Artistic Viz's http://flowingdata.com/category/visualization/artistic-visualization/
Jer Thorp - blprnt.blg http://blog.blprnt.com/
Lev Manovich - Data and Software studies, see his projects and articles http://www.manovich.net/index.php

Public data links:
South Africa Gov. http://beta2.statssa.gov.za/
Google Public Data Explorer http://www.google.co.za/publicdata/directory
Wikipedia List of Public Data Bases http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_online_databases
School of Data Handbook, for mining and web scraping tips and ticks: http://schoolofdata.org/handbook/
Information is Beautiful, Free Data Lists http://www.informationisbeautiful.net/data/

Data Project One

Data Project One Outline and Criteria - File:DATA PROJECT ONE 2016.pdf
Style Guide and Wireframe Template: File:Visualisation Style Guide Template.pdf
Project Documentation Template: File:Documentation Template.pdf

Data Project One Form for Data Collection:
File:Data Collection Personal.pdf
File:Data Collection Other.pdf

Learn more about using JSON on W3Schools

Physical Representations:
Beyond Data by Kitchen Budapest and Baltan Labs link to Issu Free Version for reading
Look closely at projects on pg. 69 - 89 and read the essay on pg. 107 - 113.

File: BeyondData.jpg

More Links, basics and inspirations:
Periodic Table of Visualisation Methods http://www.visual-literacy.org/periodic_table/periodic_table.html
Visual Complexity http://www.visualcomplexity.com/vc/index.cfm?domain=Art
A Question of Data Art http://mastersofmedia.hum.uva.nl/2011/05/04/a-question-of-dataart/
SelfieCity Project http://thecreatorsproject.vice.com/blog/selfiecity-might-be-the-ultimate-data-driven-exploration-of-the-selfie

Exam Project with GCRO

Project Partner, the Gauteng City Region Observatory: http://www.gcro.ac.za

Deadlines: Pending

Personal tools